Skip to main content

Immunizations and Health Assessments

In compliance with North Carolina law (General Statute 130A-152-157), parents/guardian shall ensure a child has received the required immunizations at the age required by law on or before the first day a student enters school. It is the responsibility of the parent/guardian to provide the immunization record no later that 30 days after the child enters school.

Physical Exam/Health Assessments:
Effective July 1, 2016 General Statute 130A-440; 10A NCAC09.3005 states that every child entering in NC public schools shall receive a health assessment. The health assessment shall be made no more than 12 months prior to the date of school entry. The parent, guardian, or responsible person shall have 30 calendar days from the first day of attendance to present the required health assessment transmittal form for the child. The state health assessment must be on the current NC Health Assessment Transmittal Form. 
Reminder for parents of high school juniors.

As of August 2020, NC law requires all 12th graders to have a booster meningitis vaccine for school.

If you are the parent of a junior, you will need to provide a copy of your child’s up to date vaccine record to their school at the beginning of next school year.

This vaccine can be given at your doctor’s office or at Cabarrus Health Alliance.

Guidance information on the new law can be located here.

Vaccine requirements are listed here and corresponding North Carolina General Statutes related to vaccines are accessible here.

If you have specific questions about the new vaccine requirement, please contact your school nurse.

NC Immunization Requirements flyer