Return to Headlines

2021-22 Principal of the Year

Congratulations to Dr. Adam Auerbach, principal of Concord High School, who has been selected as the 2021-2022 Cabarrus County Schools Principal of the Year. The Principal of the Year program is sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and Wells Fargo.

Superintendent Kopicki surprised Dr. Auerbach with the announcement at his school on Monday, September 20th.

Dr. Auerbach has been the principal of Concord High School since 2016.  He previously served as principal of Wolf Meadow Elementary.  In addition to serving as principal, he began his career with Cabarrus County Schools in 2002 as a teacher at Cox Mill Elementary School.  Prior to his first principalship, he served as assistant principal at Weddington Hills Elementary and Cox Mill High Schools.

Dr. Auerbach earned his bachelor’s degree in elementary education from the University of Florida. He also holds an educational specialist certificate from Wingate University, along with two master’s degrees from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. In addition, he received his doctorate in educational leadership from Wingate University in 2011.

It is evident that Auerbach is dedicated to his school and community. According to CCS Director of High Schools Ben Allred, “Anyone who has spent any amount of time with Dr. Auerbach knows that he exudes the spirit of Concord High School.  This includes, but is not limited to, Spider-themed clothing and sneakers in school colors. What you may not know is that this CHS-inspired life is driven by a purpose – to see all students welcomed at a school that will help them find and transition to the next chapter of their lives.  Adam knows that creating a student-centered environment is the key to unlocking students’ potential; this is a driving force behind the innovation and change at CHS.   Many of us go to ‘work’ every day, Adam goes to Concord High School, a place he calls his home away from home. It is this dedication that has led to the achievement he shares with the students, staff, and community of Concord High School.”

This is not the first time Dr. Auerbach has been awarded this honor.  Dr. Auerbach was the 2014-2015 Cabarrus County Schools Principal of the Year and the 2015 Regional North Carolina Principal of the Year. 

CCS principals nominate among their peers, and a selection panel comprised of former CCS Principals of the Year select the winner based upon an interview and artifact presentation. 

Dr. Auerbach will now compete with other principals across the state for North Carolina Principal of the Year.  After the state selection process is completed, one principal will be selected as the 2022 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year. 

Each regional Wells Fargo Principal of the Year receives a $1,000 cash award for his or her school and a $1,000 cash award for personal use.  The 2022 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year receives $3,000 for his or her school and $3,000 for his or her personal use. 

Regional award recipients will be selected by January 2022 and the state-level winner will be announced in the spring at a special awards event.

2021-22 CCS Principal of the Year