Return to Headlines

Area 8 Contest Winners

Area 8 Contest Winners Announced


Congratulations to the following Cabarrus County Schools students who are Soil and Water Conservation Contest winners for Area 8, which is comprised of Cabarrus and 11 other counties. First place area winners will go on to compete in the State contest in April 2021. 


  • William Heinrich, CC Griffin STEM Middle School
  • Desola Ogunyomi, Winecoff STEM Elementary School
  • Jasmine Olson, Hickory Ridge Middle School


The Division of Soil and Water Conservation, housed within the NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, works in cooperation with the North Carolina Soil and Water Conservation Commission and the 96 local Soil and Water Conservation Districts to protect and improve soil and water resources throughout the state. Learn more by visiting