Return to Headlines

BOE Recognizes Students, Staff

BOE Recognizes Students, Staff 03/13/2017
The Cabarrus County Board of Education recognized students and staff at its Business Meeting on Monday, March 13th.
CCS Hilbish Ford Teacher of the Month
Superintendent Dr. Chris Lowder and Mrs. Glenda Jones recognized Jennifer Suther, as the CCS Hilbish Ford Teacher of the Month for March, 2017. Mrs. Suther is a fifth grade teacher at Rocky River Elementary.
Each month, Hilbish Ford honors a CCS teacher for his or her outstanding work in the classroom. Teachers are nominated by parents or students. Hilbish presents the teacher with a trophy and a cash prize.
Impact Through Education Awards
Mrs. Ronnye Boone, Director of Communications & Public Information presented Impact Through Education Awards to students and staff for their respective schools.
Sponsored by BB&T Banking & Trust, the Impact Awards honor individuals who exemplify the qualities of initiative, hard work, and respect for others. Impact Award honorees were joined by their families and members of their schools’ administrative team as they received their awards.

Impact Award honorees for:
March 2017
   W. M. Irvin Elementary School
      Student: Lamar Jones
      Student: Sarah Weaver
      Certified Staff: Annessia Bost
      Support Staff: Cesar Delgado
   Central Cabarrus High School
      Student: Trent Litjes
      Student: Jason White
      Certified Staff: Rebecca King
      Support Staff: Theodore Bell
February 2017
   Opportunity School
      Student: Rebecca Esola
      Student: Heriberto Hernandez Noyola
      Certified Staff: Shawn Stiles
      Support Staff: Sara Caldwell
Annual Holiday eCard Design Contest
Superintendent Dr. Chris Lowder and Mrs. Ronnye Boonerecognized the winners of the 6th Annual Holiday eCard Design Contest. Winners received a certificate and 4 Single Day Passes to Great Wolf Lodge.
The design contest winners are:
Traditional Design Category
    • PreK/Elementary - Mariah Richardson - Long School
      Teacher, Michelle Stewart

    • Middle - Breanna Gallagher - Winkler Middle School
      Art Teacher, Lori Earnhardt

    • High - Abby Moose - Northwest Cabarrus High School
      Art Teacher, Deanna Ladd
Digital Design Category
    • Middle - Celine Terrones - Winkler Middle School
      Art Teacher, Lori Earnhardt

    • High - Latavia Shanell Conway - Concord High School
      Art Teacher, Benjamin Mirabelli
U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Nominee
Mr. Ben Allred, Director of High Schools, recognized Gavin Canipe from Central Cabarrus High School as a U. S. Presidential Scholars Program nominee.
Board of Education Members Training Awards
The North Carolina School Boards Association has recognized the following Board Members for cumulative training hours completed through the 2015-2016 school year:
Barry Shoemaker, Board Chair- Certificate of Achievement - 101 to 200 hours

Carolyn Carpenter, Board Vice Chair- Diploma of Honor - 501 to 600 hours
Dr. Jeff Phillips, Former Board Member- Certificate of Achievement - 101 to 200 hours
The Star Spangled Banner was performed by the flute choir from Mount Pleasant High School, under the direction of Bart Tulbert with the following students performing:      
Skyler Carter
Emily Palermo
Allison Barbee
Sammie Fellows
Ashley Queen
The following members of the Air Force JROTC unit from Mount Pleasant High School presented the colors:
Cadet Sirko Cheyann
Cadet Kayla Burris
Cadet Trinity Ramos
Cadet Lee Davis
The cadets were instructed Lt. Col. Malcolm Snell, USAF (Ret.) and Chief Kevin McLaughlin, USAF (Ret.).

Recordings of the Cabarrus County Board of Education Business Meeting will be available for viewing on the Cabarrus County Government Channel (Time Warner Cable Channel 22) on Wednesdays at 6:30 p.m. and also on-demand via the Cabarrus County Government YouTube channel.