Phone: (PH) 704 795-6519


Degrees and Certifications:

Christa Mooney

OPEN HOUSE LINK:  Join Microsoft Teams Meeting
Welcome to my page!
For those of you who do not know me, here is a little about myself.  I grew up on Long Island, New York, but moved up state to Cooperstown when I was 14.  In high school I played soccer, basketball, softball and competed with my two horses in various equestrian competitions.  After I graduated I entered a pre-vet program at Morrisville College, but switched to teaching after two years.  While in college I was on the equestrian team at Morrisville College and I played 4 years on the women’s soccer team at the State University of New York at Oneonta.  When I graduated I moved to North Carolina to begin my teaching career in Lincoln County.  That was the 1995-96 school year, so this year will be my 26th year teaching!!!  During those years I gained experience teaching 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th grade, but my favorite is 5th.  I also received my National Board Certification during my time in Lincoln County Schools.  I currently live in Highland Creek with my husband and son lives away at college.  My daughter is 16 and is a rising 11th grader at Cox Mill High School.  My son is 19 and is a college sophomore at UNCC  My husband works for Bank of America and enjoys golfing in his spare time.  My daughter spends all of her extra time at Waters Edge Farm in Concord riding her horse, Luna.  She also rides on the Waters Edge High School Equestrian Team out of Concord, NC.   My daughter also enjoys playing on the CMHS girl's soccer team and my son plays lacrosse for UNCC.   They certainly keep us busy as I’m sure you know if you have kids involved in sports and other after school activities.  My personal interests include reading, traveling, participating in sports, spending time at the lake/beach and going to concerts.  My favorite stores are Academy, Books A Million, and Target.  I love eating at Freddie’s, Carolina Alehouse, Chick Fil A, Tacos for Life and Panera.  My favorite foods are pizza, chocolate, seafood and wings.  I HATE coffee.  I have a dog (Ranger), a bearded dragon (Lucian), a ball python (Rex) as well as a tank full of fish and our horse (Luna).  I am a HUGE country music fan and attend many of the concerts in our area.  This summer I spent time in Boone, NC, Isle of Palms near Charleston, SC as well as many weekends at Badin Lake.  It was a strange summer but we still mangaged to have some fun!  I absolutely love working with kids and I’m looking forward to a great year with your child!
Last Modified on August 13, 2020