The National Honor Society of Cox Mill High School

  • The National Honor Society is the leader among organizations and societies that promote appropriate recognition for students who reflect outstanding accomplishments in the areas of scholarship, character, leadership, and service.

    To become a member, juniors must meet the requirements for 

    Scholarship:  A cumulative weighted GPA of 4.2 or higher after the 2nd semester of the junior year.  (This GPA comes from all 3 high school years but does not include any high school credits earned in middle school or rounding up of a GPA).

    Service:  At least 10 hours of documented community service within the junior year and at least 1 out-of-school activity in which they actively participate.

    Leadership: Adequate leadership qualities which are detailed through teacher recommendations.

    Character:  Have demonstrated positive character traits in their choices both in and out of school.

    Understanding the Obligations of Membership
    Students who accept membership and are inducted into the chapter should be aware of the time and commitment involved with this honor. For example, there will be chapter meetings. The chapter bylaws should articulate the yearly meeting schedule and member attendance obligations. Members also must participate in chapter and individual service projects to benefit the school and community. 

    Advisers:  Helen Matthews and Lindsey Herndon
    Upcoming events:
    2022 applications will be emailed to seniors with a weighted 4.2 GPA on Monday, August 22, 2022.  (Make sure you can access your school email and have not modified any of the settings.)
    Completed applications are due by Thursday, September 8, 2022 at 11:59 pm.
    Induction practice (all members, new and existing) -TBD in late September 2022.
    Induction of 2022 members (all members, new and existing) - TBD in late September 2022.



Projects and Activities


    2021-2022 NASSP Student Programs Calendar of Events

    NHS School Affiliation Number: 00558004

    Members of the National Honor Societies and their parents have exclusive access to College Planning and Financial Aid webinar series  


    Applications for the 2021-22 National Honor Society (NHS) Scholarship Program will open in early October. All NHS senior members in good standing will be eligible to apply.

    Tell your seniors to get ready to apply by sharing the following information:

    • Three recommendations will be required. Applicants will be asked for an email address for recommenders. So they should be gathering email addresses for and enlisting support from:
      • you—the adviser
      • your principal
      • another teacher
    • Applicants will need to detail participation or leadership in their three most significant individual service activities or projects. Suggest they consider their response now.
    • Recommend they visit to watch a quick video about the scholarship.

    You will receive an email in early October with a link to log in for application procedures. The application deadline will be TBD.

    A total of $1.5 million will be awarded, disbursed among 500 NHS seniors. Questions? Please visit the Scholarship FAQ or email

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Junior Marshalls

Last Modified on April 5, 2022